Leave a comment

Tomato Corn Chowder


Tomorrow is my last day working at URS Corporation.  My time with the company has been filled with many ups and downs, lots of travel for field work, and some big-time learning/growing experiences.  While working at URS, I was fortunate enough to get to know a few amazing people…  most of whom I now consider good friends!  Two of these friends, Peggy and Lyn, will be missed like crazy.  I really don’t think I could have made it through a few tough weeks without these girls.  They are both so caring and genuine, incredibly nice and at times very funny.  I can’t even imagine going to work every day and not seeing their warm smiling faces…  (gotta hold back the tears now).

Anyways, I was talking to Peggy and Lyn last week about this delicious recipe I have for Tomato Corn Chowder.  I honestly have no idea where this recipe originated, it’s intermixed with all of my loose recipes cards and magazine clippings, just simply typed on a plain sheet of white paper.  So, while packing, I had to take a break and post this lovely recipe to share with my good friends from work.  With the cooler seasons just around the corner, this soup will be sure to warm you right on up!

Tomato Corn Chowder

2 tablespoons Olive Oil

1 cup Chopped White Onion

1/4 cup Chopped Fresh Jalapenos

1/2 teaspoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper

1/4 teaspoon Salt

1 + 1/2 cups Frozen Sweet Corn

1 can Fire-Roasted Diced Tomatoes

1 can Chicken Broth

1/2 cup Half and Half

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add onion and jalapeno, season with salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes.  Stir in frozen corn, tomatoes and chicken broth.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 10-15 minutes.  Blend chowder using an immersion blender or food processor (blend in batches if necessary).  Stir in half and half.  Heat until warm.  Serve with oyster crackers.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

