3 Comments

Bumpdate ~14 weeks


14

14 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Lemon

New Pregnancy Habits:  Bubble-baths after work, 2:30AM Cereal Cravings, and Long Afternoon Naps

Food Cravings:  Pita Bread with Hummus AND Tzatziki, Golden Oreos with Milk (of course), Guacamole, and Anything Chocolate!

Food Aversions:  Pretzels, Fish, Onions, and All types of Meat are really turning me off lately.

Maternity Clothes:  Two of the items I ordered on-line last week fit perfectly (with belly room to grow).  The other two items… well, they were HUGE!  I really can’t see myself getting big enough to fit into them.  Maybe my body and this baby will prove me wrong… but I decided to do an exchange at the Destination Maternity store here in Scottsdale.

Worst Moment of the Week:  (1st of all… this was a week full of bad news, but for the purpose of this post I’m keeping the “worst moment” a pregnancy related one.) 

Just yesterday, I had a complete meltdown over a sandwich…  yes, a sandwich.  I’m embarrassed to admit this, but those of you who have experience pregnancy before will understand how difficult it is to keep your emotions in-check.  Irritation quickly turns into frustration which feeds anger and almost always ends in crying.

After ordering our lunch sandwiches from Which? Which? (mine w/o deli meat) we went to the pool to relax in the sun and have a bit of a picnic.  I quickly realized they got my order wrong…  forgetting the spinach and cheese.  Angry, but deciding I would just make do anyways, I opened my bag of chips as half of my sandwich fell off of my lap and flat on the nasty dirty deck at the pool.  I picked up all the tomato, cucumber, avocado pieces and handed them to Justyn – at which time this all somehow fell to the ground for the 2nd time!  I tried my hardest to keep it together and eat what was left of my lunch.  But as I took my first bite, I was overwhelmed with all these emotions and couldn’t keep the tears back any longer!  I cried through eating my sandwich, then laughed and cried while eating my chips.

P.S.  Justyn thinks I’m officially crazy now!

Best Moment of the Week:  While talking to my brother Will on the phone, he mentioned that he received the text message from Justyn that had the recording of our baby’s heartbeat.  He then told me that after hearing this, he became overwhelmed with emotion and was surprised to find himself crying!  He said it all seemed so real at that point and he finally realized that he was going to be an uncle.

I loved hearing him tell me this!  It put a big smile on my face.  It’s such a wonderful feeling to hear how much this baby is loved already!  He/She has no idea about the wonderful families they are being born into! 🙂

Newest Baby Purchase:  Justyn’s Valentine’s Day gift was actually a gift for the baby… but I knew Justyn would enjoy it just as much!  Here is the baby’s very first Husker gear!

paci grey red

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  “You can’t just keep my baby hostage!”  This was said after I told Justyn he wasn’t allowed to touch my belly after dinner.  I was very full and uncomfortable… you understand, right?

3 comments on “Bumpdate ~14 weeks

  1. awww, you look so cute! Dang sandwich people! 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness you are SO cute! I just read through pretty much your entire blog and can relate to so many of your cravings and especially to your sandwich meltdown. I am already a very emotional person, but pregnancy has made me emotional about things that you wouldn’t normally get emotional about…like your sandwich ordeal. I also can relate to feeling STARVING all the time. I am always a big eater, but the last week has been OUT OF CONTROL. It’s like nothing satifies the hunger…not matter how much I eat (which is a lot). I hope to look as adorable as you do when my bump gets bigger!

    Carin @ thebabydoctorswife

    • Well thanks so much!!! I’m glad you can relate to many of my posts… that actually makes me feel more normal. Ha!

      Best of luck to you and I’m sure you will look super cute throughout your pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

