4 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 21 weeks


Our photo shoot was this last weekend and Marley was on his absolute worst behavior!  After about 15 minutes of struggling with the dog to get him to sit for just ONE picture, I gave up and had Justyn take him to the car for the rest of our session.

Once Marley was settled, we continued to take pictures (just the two of us) and I know we got some really great shots.  I can’t wait to see the finished photos!

As happy as I was about our pictures, I was still a little bummed that we didn’t get to include the dog.  So, we decided to do our own little photo shoot once we got home.  I know I’m not a professional, by any means… but, here’s what we were able to do:

037035

038

After the whole fiasco with Marley, I made a promise to myself that I will never again try to include the dog in any of our family photo shoots.  Sorry pup, we love you, but you’re just too much of a pain in the butt!

******

Now, time for our latest “Bumpdate”

21 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Pomegranate

Gender:  Boy

Food Cravings:  Ice Cream (so typical but so true), Fruit, and I’m still drinking an insane amount of Iced Tea!

Food Aversions:  Sausage, Onions, and Kalamata Olives… I seriously think I’m actually going to puke when I walk by the olive-bar at Safeway.  That is one extremely potent smell!

Most Asked Question:  “How are you feeling?”  I swear I get asked this question at least twice a day.  I used to always answer by saying – Pretty good.  It’s not so bad… I’m making it through.

And let me tell you, it is so nice to finally be able to answer this question honestly by saying – I feel really great!  It’s amazing how good I feel lately!   (keeping my fingers crossed that I can keep up these good feelings for as long as I possibly can)

Movement:  Yep, he’s still kicking around in there and it seems to be getting stronger with each week.  Justyn has felt him move a few times already too… which even our doctors were surprised by!  They told us that was probably because of my smaller size.  Poor baby is all scrunched up in my short 5’3″ body and doesn’t have much room to stretch!

Maternity Clothes:  I kinda splurged this week and got myself a REALLY cute pair of shorts from A Pea in the Pod:

dmc

Best Moment of the Week:  Our doctor gave me and baby a squeaky-clean bill of health!  She says all of our test results are “boring”.  We feel pretty lucky and are hoping that everything keeps going so well.

Worst Moment of the Week:  I had a “forgetful mom” moment this week and I’m not even a mother just yet!

For our photo shoot, we ordered a bunch of blue balloons… and since we scheduled the pictures to start at 8:00am on Sunday morning, that meant I needed to pick up the balloons by 5:00 the day before.  Well, at 7:05 on Saturday night I finally remembered those dang balloons!

I immediately panicked.  Yelling at Justyn that “we need to go NOW!”  I rushed the two of us out the door… I didn’t even realized what I looked like until we were half-way there.  I was wearing pajamas that were definitely getting too small for my growing belly and I had on a really ugly pair of slip-on shoes that happened to be by the door.

We got to the grocery store and I ran straight over to the closed floral shop.  To my pleasant surprise, I found the balloons sitting just outside the shop with my name and the bill attached to the bottom!  Thank God! 🙂

Once I had the balloons and was waiting in line at the customer service desk to pay, I started to notice that people were looking at me.  Of course!  I looked like a complete idiot… I was acting frantically while dressed in pajamas that were way too small and I was running around the store carrying a giant bunch of balloons.  By this point, even Justyn was pretending like he didn’t know me.  Oh well, luckily we didn’t bump into anyone who could have recognized us!  AND, we got the balloons… which was definitely the most important thing.

Looking Forward to:  We move into the new house this weekend!  I really can’t wait to get started on that nursery!

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  “I can’t wait to teach our son how to patch holes in the drywall someday!”  Here’s hoping our kid will love it as much as his dad does…  boys and their tools.

Newest Baby Items:  While we were visiting with Jerin and Robert, they gave us the cutest outfit for our little guy.

004I’m in love with the shorts!  Adorable.  This outfit will be perfect for Husker game-day!  Thanks Jerin and Rob!

4 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 21 weeks

  1. haha, I actually laughed out loud imagining you and the balloons! The photos are so cute! All the best with your pregnancy!

  2. oh, dogs. we didn’t even attempt with nella in our announcement pics, because she would have gotten sent to the car too. but the ones you got are cute! and the balloons story, SO funny. good luck with your move! don’t lift too much 🙂

Leave a Reply

