8 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 27 weeks


27 WEEKS  (last week of the 2nd trimester… whoa!)

Baby is the Size of a:  Rutabaga???

rutabaga

Yeah, I had never heard of this before… here’s the wikipedia definition:  a root vegetable that originated as a cross between the cabbage and the turnip. The roots are prepared for food in a variety of ways, and its leaves can also be eaten as a leaf vegetable.

Gender:  Boy

Food Cravings:  Frozen Yogurt, Cookies, Smarties Candy and Pickles!

Food Aversions:  Nothing at all!

Movement:  I’m starting to feel more pushing/sliding activity and less jabs/kicks.  Does this mean that he’s starting to run out of extra room in there?  Because I also feel like my stomach has stopped growing and it is just getting harder now…  maybe I’m crazy?  I asked Justyn if he thought my stomach had stopped growing, he said “Nope, it’s definitely still getting bigger.”  So, I don’t know.

Maternity Clothes:  I finally took a trip to the maternity store and picked up a few new things for work.  While shopping, I found these great light-weight linen pants:

linenpantsThey are so comfortable that I decided to buy them in both the natural color (shown above) and in navy too!  I’m really hoping these linen pants will be great for the hot summer days ahead of me.  Secret Fit Belly Linen Lightweight Boot Cut Maternity Pants

Worst Moment of the Week:  Dropping my Dad off at the airport!  Goodbyes are so much harder when you’re pregnant.  I almost needed to pull over and let Justyn drive us back home! 😦

Best Moment of the Week:  Our neighbors from across the street invited us over for dinner on Saturday night.  They are a younger couple with two kids (a 7 year-old boy and a 4 year-old girl).  We had a really great time visiting with them and they made some awesome food for us…  BBQ Ribs, Corn-on-the-Cob, Fruit Salad, Cheddar Biscuits, and a warm Chocolate Brownie with Ice Cream for dessert!!!  This pregnant chick was in food heaven!

Looking Forward to:  The upcoming holiday weekend!  Not because we have plans (’cause of course we don’t), but for the time off from work.  I need some serious relaxation time!  Lately, this is about all I ever hear myself say:  “I’m hot, I’m tired, I’m uncomfortable… oh, and I’m hungry too.”

I’m going to take my 4-day weekend and sleep-in until at least 9:00, hang out at the pool, and I will be eating everything and anything I want!  And no one should try to stop me.

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  Out of the blue on Friday night, Justyn says “I wonder if my son will prefer Jim Beam or Jack Daniels”.

I told him that was the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard him say about our baby so far!  Then I actually started to tear up a little.  I’m really not sure why, but I realized that I really don’t like thinking about my precious little baby drinking any alcohol at all, especially whiskey!

Justyn laughed at me because I got upset about something so silly.  I laughed at myself too, but I still don’t like thinking about it!

Newest Baby Item(s):  My girlfriend at work, Laura, gave me a couple of really cute little romper outfits for the baby!  Laura is pregnant too and also due in August just like me… so, of course this means we are new best friends 🙂

52Awe, how cute are those puppies?  I love the surfer dog with the swim shorts!

**Don’t forget to check out our other blog:  Gifts for Baby Kearney to see pictures of all the wonderful shower gifts we’ve been receiving!**

8 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 27 weeks

  1. I started laughing out loud about your husband’s comment about what type of whiskey your son will prefer!! I don’t blame you for getting emotional thinking about you baby like that:) It’s so funny the things that go through our husbands’ heads! That’s one you’ll have to write down in the baby book.

  2. Haha, oh my gosh! I would have been sad if my hubbs said that too! It IS pretty funny though. =) It’s hard to think of babies growing up…I can’t believe McKenzie will be 5 by the time the baby’s here!

    • I get it now… why parents get sad as their children grow up! I just want this little guy to be my precious little baby forever. I’m going to be one of “those moms” who cry on the 1st days of school, graduations, and moving off to college.

  3. Love your husbands remark! Too funny. I am hoping ours prefers Makers Mark- but that’s a personal opinion. 😉 I am hungry constantly, too. I had two cheeseburgers, ice cream, and chips for lunch the other day- and still wanted more!

  4. I laughed out loud at the Jim Beam/Jack Daniels comment. Got to love how different a man’s mind is than a woman’s!

Leave a Reply

