16 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 30 weeks


30

30 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Cucumber

Gender:  Boy

Food Cravings:  Rootbeer Floats, Angel Food Cake, Cheeseburgers, Fruit

Food Aversions:  Nothing really… I’ll eat whatever, whenever.

Movement:  Yes, he’s still quite the mover and shaker.  Well, I guess he doesn’t really “shake” but sometimes his kicks are so sudden and strong that they actually startle and shake me!

Maternity Clothes:  I stopped by Old Navy over the weekend to pick up a couple of those tami tanks that I wrote about a few weeks ago.  I bought one in teal and the pink one that I’m wearing in my bump picture!

Worst Moment of the Week:  So, I failed my 1-hour glucose test.  Hearing this news was a total bummer and on top of that, my blood results also showed that I was very low on iron making me “extremely anemic” (to quote my OB’s nurse).

This Thursday I went back to the doctor’s office for the follow-up 3-hour test.  Which was pretty much as sucky as I expected it to be.  For those of you who don’t know, the glucose drink for the 3-hour test has twice the amount of sugar as the drink for the 1-hour test and therefore it actually has a thicker consistency.  Bleh!  For the entire first hour I was in and out of the bathroom seriously fighting back the urge to puke.  My stomach was burning with all of that sugar sitting in there without any food or water to help soak it up or dilute it down.  Plus the carbonation was giving me some terrible indigestion.

After the 1st hour blood draw, the nurse noticed that I looked very pale and took me to a room to immediately lie down.  Probably a good idea since I was starting to feel a little faint.  This feeling continued for nearly the entire 2nd hour, but I slowly started to feel the warmth come back into my face and I became hopeful that I was going to make it through this without puking or fainting!

For the final hour of the test, each minute seemed to go by slower than crap!  I just couldn’t wait to get that last blood draw finished and finally be able to drink water and eat food!  No pregnant woman should ever have to endure nearly 12 hours of fasting.  Ugh!

Luckily, that 3rd hour was eventually over… so I skipped back to the lab where I greeted the nurse with a giant smile in total excitement for my test to finally be over!  She laughed at me, stuck the fourth and final needle in my arm and 20 seconds later I was collecting my things and running out of the door.  I still haven’t received a call with my test results, but hopefully I will hear something by the end of the day today.  Keep your fingers crossed that I hear good news this time!

Best Moment of the Week:  My long-distance baby shower was just perfect!  I loved opening all of the cards and packages that I’d received from my friends and family.  Everyone seemed to put so much love and thought into their gifts for Baby Kearney!  We got a bunch of handmade cards, lots of really adorable clothes, and a bunch of other baby necessities.

Thanks again to my Mom for planning this shower and for flying down to visit us and helping to celebrate our baby boy!  We really had a great time and we feel so loved and very blessed!  

DSCN0610

Looking Forward to:  Lots!  This week at work, my unit is throwing me a baby shower!  I’m so excited, I really work with some amazing people and can’t wait to have a little fun with everyone.

Also, this weekend is our 1-year wedding anniversary!  I can’t believe it’s been a year already but I’m really looking forward to celebrating with my husband.

Last, but not least, I’m excited for Father’s Day this weekend!  It will be fun to spoil Justyn and make him feel extra special as a new daddy-to-be!

Newest Baby Item(s):  Well, of course we got a bunch of shower gifts and I’ll post something about that later, but for now I’d like to mention the new book I picked up:  The Baby Signing Bible by Laura Berg.

41YcSs1X9HL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

All of my plans for this pregnancy, birth and raising baby are pretty typical and very normal.  I’m not planning for a natural “drug-free” birth or attempting to use cloth diapers.  I haven’t been all that strict with my diet during pregnancy and although I’m not opposed to the idea of making my own baby food, I sure haven’t done any research about how that’s done.  BUT, I’m really interested in baby sign language.  I love the idea of being able to communicate using signs with my baby before he is able to speak words.  I’d like to give this a good faith effort and my husband is actually on-board with the idea too.

I have no clue how easy or hard it might be, especially considering that my baby will be at daycare during the week and won’t necessarily be exposed to these baby signs.  So, we’ll just see how it goes!  It can’t hurt, right?  From what I’ve heard/read, children who are introduced to baby sign language are more advanced in their early school years and learn more quickly than kids without the baby sign language experience.

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  So, I’m in the kitchen… digging the cantaloupe out of the fridge for an afternoon snack and I overhear my husband say to the dog “Marley, your mom is like a bear raiding a campsite.”

Ugh, that punk!  Now every time I get something to eat, I figure Justyn is picturing me like this:

100605_bear_campsite BEAR1_I110611214626

16 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 30 weeks

  1. Sorry to hear about the glucose testing. Hopefully your results of the 2nd test will come back better. Keeping my fingers crossed for you! Happy anniversary to you and your husband!

  2. Bummer about the test, lady. Sending good vibes for the 3-hour!

    Also, we are way too similar. We are within 2 weeks in our pregnancies and less than a week in our wedding anniversaries! #odd

    Anyway, take care of yourself! Have a good week!

    • Yes! We are so similar… which is really nice to have someone to relate to! 🙂

      Unfortunately, I didn’t pass the 3-hour either. So I’ll be meeting with a dietitian tomorrow to set up a meal plan and learn about testing my blood daily with the glucose meter. Bummed about it for sure, but the only thing to do is move forward and make the changes that I need to make for me and baby!

  3. Oh man, my 3 hour was miserable too…thank god I passed! I was about to throw up too. Bleh. Hope yours turns out well! Happy wedding anniversary!

    • Thanks, Nicole! It sounds like everyone struggles through that 3-hour test.

      Unfortunately, I found out yesterday that I didn’t pass that test either! So now that I officially have “gestational diabetes”, I will need to meet with a dietitian tomorrow to start my diet and figure out how to test and track my blood sugar daily. 😦

  4. 30 weeks!? Wohoo! 10 weeks to go and you are gonna have your sweet boy in your arms. Hasn’t this Arizona weather been fun? It sure is getting hot!

    Happy anniversary to you! Hope you guys do something really special!

  5. I was told I was low on iron & failed my 1st glucose test too….not fun! The drink they made me drink for the 3hr test was the same as the 1st though, it was sugary, but just reminded me of those cheap artificial drinks in the clear bottles we had as kids. I somehow made it through the fasting w/o issues, but I have more meat on my bones than you so maybe that’s why. ha 😉

    I’m so glad you had a nice visit with your Mom & she was able to see you open some of your goodies! Sounds like you’re getting lots of nice stuff – what a great way to share the pics via your bloglink! And now you’re having a 3rd shower? Awesome! We just had the 1, but it was super fun!

    Fingers crossed for your 3hr test results to come back that you passed! Apparently it’s pretty common for us preggo’s to fail the 1st & pass the 2nd…I wish someone had told me that BEFORE I took the first test! ha

    Happy Pregnancy~Mindy

    • It was really great to have my Mom visit and get to share in all the baby fun! Hopefully you and Derek were able to enjoy a little time with her as well 🙂

      I did get the call yesterday from the doctor telling me that I did NOT pass the 3-hour test. So, I guess that means I officially have gestational diabetes! I meet with a dietitian tomorrow to figure out the next steps for my “treatment”. Definitely pretty bummed about the results, but at least I can move forward now and start making changes for my health (and baby’s too)!

  6. I’m sorry you had to go through the 3-hour test, but I’m glad you made it through the first time! It is definitely a rough situation with all that sugar and fasting. I feel like your bear pictures. For some reason my appetite has been hard to control and I want to eat everything! I think my husband is leaving all his comments for after the birth so I don’t flip out on him 🙂 I’m sure he has a few.

    Anyway, Happy Anniversary and I hope you guys have something fun planned!

    • Yes, I’m very glad I made it through the first time too… I actually was thinking about you during my test because I remembered you had such a rough time the first go around.

      Good for your husband and keeping his comments to himself (for now at least). My husband is always joking, but still there are sometimes I’d just rather not hear it! Keeps me laughing though and that’s always good.

      Thanks for the anniversary wishes… we’ll definitely do something special this weekend!

  7. UGH, I have my GTT on Monday, not looking forward to it! Sorry you didn’t pass the 3 hour test, but you’ll probably be so much more healthy at the time of delivery. My friend who had GD with her last baby became such a healthy person, it was actually a good eye opener for her about her own health, so maybe something good will come out of it… although, I would venture to guess you’re already a health conscious person, and you definitely aren’t overweight!!! Good luck girl!

    • Very good point… there really might be something good that could come out of this. And really, I’ve been enjoying the bad pregnant eating enough, time to get serious and start eating more healthy. It was fun while it lasted 🙂

      Good luck with your glucose test on Monday! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  8. That sucks that you had to do the 2nd test, I had to do it as well with Bennett and thought I was going to pass out after the first 2 hours. I was lucky that my test turned out okay, but I do remember scarfing down a large roast beef and curly fry from Arby’s afterwards. Because we don’t see each other often, I hope all else is going well. Can’t wait to meet the new baby boy!

    • Oh my! A roast beef and curly fries from Arby’s sounds awesome 🙂

      Thanks for the comment and hopefully we’ll get to see you shortly after the baby is born… maybe at Christmas time?

Leave a Reply

