10 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 32 weeks


32

32 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Squash

Gender:  Boy

Food Cravings:  I found a new favorite snack with this diet of mine:  A whole-wheat Eggo waffle with peanut butter (no syrup, of course) and a glass of ice cold milk.  This is delicious!!!  I’ve been eating one everyday before I leave for work.

Food Aversions:  Red meat is a serious turn-off lately… yuck!

Movement:  Yes, constantly!  I’ve heard this should change soon, as the baby grows and starts running out of room.  Although it’s reassuring to feel him move so much, I think I might enjoy a little less movement… especially at bedtime!

Maternity Clothes:  The outfit in my bump picture is new!  I got the shorts on sale (1/2 off) at A Pea in the Pod.

Best Moment of the Week:  I had a follow-up appointment with the dietitian this week to discuss how my diet for gestational diabetes was going so far.  She said that all of my blood sugar readings looked really good and some she actually considered “low”.  She then made a few modifications to my meal plan.  I now get to have fruit in the mornings, my carb limit got bumped up by about 10 grams for each meal and… here’s the best part… for dessert, I can have a tiny bit of plain cheesecake or two small scoops of vanilla ice cream!

So, I went straight to the grocery store to buy a cheesecake and some ice cream!  When I got home, I decided to cut the cake into my allowed serving size.  I wrapped all of the pieces in plastic cling wrap and put them in the freezer so they’ll be ready to go whenever it’s time for dessert!

321Yes, I am super excited about this!  Not being allowed dessert while pregnant is basically like torture.  There is nothing I want more than just a little bit of sugar.  I’m so happy to know that I can actually have something sweet now, even if it’s got to be this small!

Worst Moment of the Week:  I’ve lost about 2 lbs since last week, and considering I should be gaining about 1 pound each week, that puts me back a total of 3 lbs!  I’m really stressed and worried about this.  I can’t help but to constantly think about how my lack of weight gain is affecting the baby’s development.  I’m sure that this new diet has a lot to do with my weight loss, but then I’ve been eating so much lately that I’m constantly feeling full and sometimes over-stuffed.  So, I really don’t know what’s going on.

Luckily, we have an appointment with my OB doctor tomorrow.  I definitely plan to talk to her about this issue with my weight and hopefully she can recommend something that I can do differently.

Looking Forward to:  Our glider (rocking chair) is supposed to arrive this week.  I’m so excited for Justyn to get it all unpacked and set up in the baby’s room!  I just want to sit in his room and spend hours daydreaming of all the times we’ll spend together cuddling in that chair.

pTRU1-12562841enh-z6

Newest Baby Item(s):  Only 56 days left until Baby Kearney’s due-date, and only 67 days left until the first Husker game!  Planning that he’ll be here to watch the first game of the season with us, we really needed to get him an outfit to wear.  Yes, we’ve already bought a few husker onesies… but they’re all sized for 3+ months!  So, we order these in a newborn size:

NEB74_large

10 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 32 weeks

  1. Yay for getting to eat dessert! I would go crazy without it. I don’t think you should be too worried about your weight gain. I know everyone is really different and some people just don’t gain as much as others (I am a gainer though unfortunately…). I know that if I were on a diet like you are for diabetes I would absolutely lose weight too! I almost had thought it would be good for me to have GD because I would be forced to stop eating dessert twice a day.
    xoxo

  2. You look fantastic! Those shorts are super cute. =) I hate red meat too, and you totally just made me crave cheesecake. Home stretch, lady!

  3. I agree with thebabydoctorswife on everything! And super cute shorts!

  4. Love the shorts! I need another pair so I’m going to have to check those out!

  5. I love the shorts, so cute. I wouldn’t worry about the weight loss, baby will get all the nutrients he needs and you don’t need anything else to stress about during pregnancy. Plus, now you get to eat desserts! That’s got to be a big bonus. The Huskers outfits are so cute – my husband is from Nebraska, so I’m sure we’ll eventually have some Huskers attire as well.

  6. You are so adorable! I love your outfit in your picture…..those shorts are super cute!! I’m glad that your diet was able to be modified by your doc/dietitian. How EXCITING that you get to eat a little bit of dessert. I bet that was an amazing thing to hear:) And I wouldn’t worry too much about your weight loss…I’m sure baby is healthy as can be. Baby will always take the nutrients first, so he is doing just fine.

Leave a Reply

