24 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 35 weeks


35

For this last month we’ve decided to take bump pictures every week instead of every other week.  I’ve read that the baby really packs on the pounds and the belly grows the most in the last few weeks, so we’ll see how that goes for us!

35 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Coconut

Gender:  It’s  a Boy!

Food Cravings:  I want dessert like crazy!  I’m talking the most decadent chocolate cake, a giant ooey-gooey cinnamon roll, frozen yogurt with all the sugary toppings, and wash that all down with a big-gulp sized rootbeer.

Only 5 more weeks of gestational diabetes and surviving this pregnancy without dessert… can I do it?!?!

Food Aversions:  No real “aversions” just getting tired of the same ol’, same ol’ boring food I’ve been eating with the diet.  I want more of a variety, but I lack the energy to put forth the effort in finding and cooking some alternative recipes.

I need my own personal chef…  AMY!!!  I know you read my blog.  How about you move in with us and start cooking for me?  Please!

Movement:  The little dude is still as active as ever!  My husband started laughing the other day while feeling him move.  Then Justyn said he thinks the baby has 8 arms and legs and is moving them all at the same time.

Yes! I think the same thing sometimes.  Then, I start to wonder how crazy active this kid will be when he’s here!  THEN, I start picturing my wild younger brother, John, as a child:  running all over the house, always going 100mph, constantly hurting himself because he just wouldn’t slow down!  Oh boy, I just might have my hands full with this one.

Maternity Clothes:  Nothing new, but I did find a skirt in my closet (with an elastic waist) that actually works pretty good as a maternity piece!  I needed to tweak it just a bit by folding it over, under my belly, so the front doesn’t hang lower than the back.

Worst Moment of the Week:  Oh wow, it’s been a rough week for me emotionally.  I’ve been letting everything get the best of me:  the lack of sleep, the stress of my diet, not gaining any weight and getting sick of hearing “you’re due next month? but you’re so small!“, and all the aches and pains of the last month of pregnancy!

I had a good talk with my friend, Emily, who just had her 1st baby in October.  She really helped to get me out of my funk, encouraging me to start focusing on the baby instead.  She reminded me about all of the great things that are coming soon and talked about how amazing it is to be a mom!

I’m trying my best now to keep my thoughts positive and to focus on the precious little baby that will be here in just a few short weeks!  I can do this, and it will all be so worth it in the end.  🙂

Best Moment of the Week:  Remember me talking about how my best friend is pregnant too?  Well, not anymore!  Here’s a sweet picture of her little angel “Lucy” born on 7.11.13

IMG952013071295095841

Congratulations to Tony & Jessica!  She’s just so perfect and I can’t wait to meet her.  🙂

Looking Forward to:  We’ve got an ultrasound scheduled for next week!!!  I’m so excited about this, we haven’t had an ultrasound since week 18!  I really can’t wait to see my baby boy on that screen and make sure he’s still doing alright.

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  I recently asked Justyn if he thought I had started walking differently.  Without hesitation, he responded:  “Yeah, you’re walking like a duck now.”

Newest Baby Item(s):  Um, nothing new for baby this week because Mommy spent her money on a new haircut (and maybe a pedicure too)!  BUT, the haircut was done with the baby in mind.  I chopped off nearly 6 inches because it was just taking way too long to fix my hair everyday.  Less time working on my hair = more time for baby!  Plus it I think looks pretty cute:

20130713_101014 (1)

24 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 35 weeks

  1. Love the haircut! I keep thinking I need a “shape-up” before the baby comes. A nice little relaxation before the chaos. 😉

    Someone made the comment to me the other day that I didn’t look 8 months pregnant and I responded, “Oh, so you think I’ve always had this belly.” Whoops…. I know they didn’t mean it mean. And I should have been nicer. But they happened to be about the 50th person to do that recently.

    Chris felt me the baby having what I like to call a “spastic moment” the other day and he suddenly realized why I twitch and jump when we sit still! 🙂

    Praying for you the next few weeks.

    • Yes! I know everyone is just trying to be nice and might actually be trying to give me a compliment, but I can’t help to think they are trying to say that I’m doing something wrong. I think I feel this way just because I have my own concerns about how the baby is growing.

      Thanks for the prayers, I’ll be praying for you too!

  2. I love the hair! And you look adorable as ever. You are a small person, so you look exactly PERFECT for 34 weeks. Every person carries a baby differently. Daily I get a comment from people, but mine is more like, “when are you due, next month?” I guess I am bigger than most people expect.

    I like what your friend said about focusing on the baby. As long as he is happy and healthy, nothing else really matters.

    You are getting so close to having him in your arms! The end is the best prize ever.
    xo

    • Thanks, you just have the sweetest things to say! I wish I could stop comparing my size to others… because you’re right, every person carries differently. I’m definitely going to start trying to change the way I’ve been thinking. Gotta focus on the good and not get worked up with all the concerns!

      • Plus, think that you won’t have to wear your maternity clothes at all after baby (like I will be doing since I will be 20+ pounds heavier than before).

        Just remember that your baby is the first to get nutrients over you. So when you are eating, he gets first dibs, and then whatever is left goes to you. I asked my husband about this and he reassured me that this is the absolute case. So for sure your little man is getting what he needs!

        I say we plan to meet up sometime after our babies are born! I love coming up to Phoenix to go shopping 🙂
        xoxo

      • Yes! We really should meet up once the babies are here… that would be great! We’ll have to talk about this more later. 🙂

  3. Your hair is super cute! I felt so pampered after I got mine done. Anyhow, 5 weeks can’t come soon enough for me either. I hope you have a giant sundae in the delivery room waiting for you! =)

  4. Becky — yes, I do read your awesome blog. I have 2 things to say: 1. The next 5 weeks will be the true test of patience, confidence, love and ‘damn I’m fat’ feelings all wrapped into one! Keep up the positive attitude and just know that your baby is 100% perfect and so are you! Now Justyn might be about at 50% (that’s because he keeps buying all that awful red football gear!) Can’t wait for my big burnt orange stuff to start arriving! 2. Re: Personal Chef — you got it! I will send you a couple of really easy recipes until I can come up and really cook up a storm! Ones that you can leave in the fridge. Text/email or reply here to 5 – 10 ingredients that you love, crave and can have. Love to you all! Even Marley! and I guess Daddy to Be!!!! Amy 5 weeks and counting……

    • Amy, you are awesome! I was totally kidding around about the personal chef thing… but if you have some easy recipes that I can put in the fridge – I’d be more than happy to try them out! I’ll send you a text with some ingredients… Love You! 🙂

  5. First impression of your hair: LOVE IT! It looks so pretty! I bet it feels so light and refreshing. Smart move before the baby arrives. I have a feeling doing my hair and makeup will sink much lower on my priority list once my baby is here. (Oh, and I love your shirt too!)

    What a really awesome perspective to have: focusing on the baby instead of the pregnancy. I’m sorry that people say hurtful things. They usually don’t intend their comments to be hurtful, but there is so much going on in these pregnant/hormonal bodies/minds of ours that it’s hard to take any comments well. You don’t look small, you look PERFECT! You are perfect and your baby is perfect. I think I get a bit of opposite comments you get—someone asked if I was sure it wasn’t twins. Everyone is different and carries their babies differently. You are doing just great.

    Congrats to your friend on her birth! How adorable is she??

    • Katy- I love how we both get the same comments! xoxoxoox

    • Thanks so much! And I can’t believe someone actually asked you if you were having twins… OMG! I seriously think you (and Carin) look absoultely amazing – makes me wonder what the heck everyone else is seeing?!?!

      P.S. That’s another shirt from Target… gotta love that place! 🙂

      • And I agree–Carin looks great too!! Yeah, I think people sometimes forget how BIG some pregnant women get at the end of pregnancy (maybe because a lot of ladies who are 36-40 weeks tend to stay home more?) So maybe they don’t realize that my 28 week belly is not really that big considering the baby it houses is only 2.5 pounds. I was shopping last week and a lady said her daughter is due in August and is about the same size as me….I was like “thanks” 🙂 lol Honestly I’m learning to just let the comments go a bit better now. I don’t think I look big and my husband thinks I look great, so that is what matters to me:)

        P.S. way to score at target! The maternity section at my target is pretty small, so they have like 10 shirts, 10 pants, and 5 dresses. Oh well.

  6. I think it’s crazy how everyone has an opinion about what size you SHOULD be when really the only people who should be allowed to have an opinion are you and your doctor. As long as everything is healthy, then GOOD. Also, I think you look great 🙂

    • It is crazy. But, I really need to be better about only listening to what the doctor says and then believing it too. I’m my own worst enemy sometimes (and I really should probably stop weighing myself at home)!

      • I agree—weighing at home is the worst (but opposite end of the spectrum for me). Becky, as soon as he pops out, people are going to be in shock that you just had a baby because you will have zero evidence on your body that he was just inside there:) At least that is one good thing that comes from this. I’m sorry you are so stressed though.

  7. You look fabulous and I wouldn’t worry about what others are saying even though it’s hard not to think about it. This is the home stretch and unfortunately everyone has an opinion about everything, so do as your friend said and focus on baby. You definitely deserve some pampering! I love the haircut. I know mine will probably be in need of a change after baby, but I hate thinking about cutting my hair since it’s always been longer. But a manicure/pedicure is definitely on my list of things to do before she’s born. Keep up the positive attitude and take some more time for yourself to relax.

  8. Aww!!! I love you Beck! You look so fantastic!! These last weeks of pregnancy are hard. I had so many melt downs during that time, but trust me…they are so worth it. Being a mom is the most amazing and wonderful feeling in the entire world. Just lean on Justyn during these last weeks and you will be just fine!!! Love you!!!!!

  9. Love the hair! I was super sensitive to “you’re so small” comments too – I feel you. I think you look fabulous and perfectly pregnant!

    • Thanks, Carrie. Everytime I talk to Justyn about my weight/size, he compares my pregnancy to yours… reminding me that you were smaller too and that Bodee was born perfectly healthy! That’s always reassuring to me. So, in a way, I have you to thank for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

