29 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 36 weeks


36

36 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Honeydew

Gender:  It’s  a Boy!

Food Cravings:  Milk, Fruit and Cheetos 🙂

Food Aversions:  Nothing, I’m just hungry!

Movement:  Yes, all of the time!  Plus, he has at least one case of the hiccups each day.  When I ask my husband to feel the baby’s hiccups, he starts to get sad and feels sorry for the little guy.  He’ll begin rubbing my belly and saying things like “it’s ok, baby”.  His reaction always makes me laugh, but it’s also so cute to see how concerned he gets over a few little hiccups!

Maternity Clothes:  Nothing new… and since we are so close to the end now, I probably won’t need to buy anything more.  Thank God!  I like thinking that the next clothing item I buy for myself won’t be from the maternity section.

Worst Moment of the Week:  What I love about being pregnant: (trying to keep my thoughts positive…)

1.  My bump…  I just love it so much.  I really can’t keep my hands off it!

2.  The silent kindness from strangers:  warm smiles, loving stares, and subtle winks sent my direction.  People simply love pregnant women.

3.  Creating new friendships and bonding with other girls who are pregnant at the same time as me.

4.  Forming a stronger relationship with my husband and watching as his love grows for both baby and me!

5.  Shopping for baby clothes.  Seriously, is there anything more fun than this?

Best Moment of the Week:  I’m finally gaining some noticeable weight!  I hit +15 lbs on the scale last night and I was so pumped about that I actually cheered out loud; “Woohoo!”  Crazy, I never thought I’d be so excited about gaining weight… but the higher the number reads on the scale, the better I feel about my baby’s growth.

Looking Forward to:  We have our appointment for an ultrasound TODAY!!!

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  While watching The Bachelorette last week (the episode when they meet the guys’ families), I could see the concern from all of the moms that they didn’t want to see their son get their feelings hurt.  I said something to Justyn, that I can only imagine how hard it will be for me when our son is dating and trying to find “the one”.  Plus, there is that unpleasant thought that my son could love another girl more than he loved me.

Justyn turned, looked me right in the eyes and said “Our son will love you the most, I’ll make sure of that.”  The sincerity on his face when he said this just about brought me to tears.  At that moment I realized, once again, just how lucky I am to be married to such a great guy… someone who loves me so much and who will be such an amazing father to our kids.

Newest Baby Item(s):  We got our last piece of nursery furniture, the baby’s dresser!  Once the dresser was put in place, it didn’t take us much longer to finish up the last final touches to the baby’s room:

finishedWe also needed to pick up a changing pad and cover.  I just decided to buy this at Babies R Us and let me just say, I’m less than impressed.  The cover really doesn’t fit the pad very well and considering I spent $40 on the two items, they are both rather cheaply made!

dresserBut, I did find this little key holder at Target.  I thought it would work perfectly to hang up the baby’s clothes for display and as another wall decoration in the nursery.  I love how it looks, so perfect and so cute!

key rack

29 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 36 weeks

  1. As a first time mum (6.5months post partum:) I’m getting very excited for you haha Congratulations on the coming of your baby 🙂 I think I’ll be watching your space 😀

  2. I love the key holder for baby clothes, so creative!
    Declan got the hiccups all the time when I was pregnant and he still gets them now. They are adorable but we always feel bad for him too because they last so long! Lol.
    Great post mama, excited for you, you’re almost there!

    • I did read something about how the hiccups can actually be good for baby… how they help strengthen the diaphragm muscle. It makes sense, really. But yeah, I’m sure we’ll continue to feel bad for him when he gets the hiccups even after he’s born!

  3. You look great Becky! I’m sure it is worrying about the weight thing, especially if people are saying you are so “small,” but I think you look great. You have such a small frame anyway so it’s natural that you won’t get as big as others. I’ve gained right about 25lbs & have a naturally larger frame than you so I think you look perfect for your size!

    I haven’t felt any hiccups….my little guy isn’t as mobile. I def feel him move, but he’s on like any every other day schedule. Some days he’s sooo mobile & then he’ll have a quieter day & then the next day he’s active again. I’m kind of glad though because I think I’d have even more bladder issues if he moved as much as your li’l guy.

    Aren’t you glad we’re not Princesses & don’t have all the eyes of the world on us….Poor Kate! What pressure….

    • Thanks for all the kind words, Mindy! You are getting so close now… actually, you could really have your baby any day now! 🙂

      About the bladder issues, I can hardly make it all the way to work in the morning without needing to stop! And I try my hardest to get to the bathroom before I sneeze – lol!

      And yes, very glad to not be part of the royal family right about now. BUT, I think Justyn is a little jealous! This morning he said “Do you think you’ll get a Fox news headline when you go into Labor?” haha!

  4. You look fabulous! Bouncing baby boys are wonderful (I went to China for my little girl!). My baby boy is now 11!!! Enjoy this amazing time in your life. So happy for you and your family.

  5. Oh my gosh! The nursery is adorable! Way cute. And way to stay positive…I feel so negative lately! =( I also love bonding with other preggos!

    • Thanks, Nicole! I really felt like the worst Negative Nancy lately… I just had to do something to turn my attitude around. It’s definitely helping, but there are still some rough days – of course.

  6. I just love everything about you! I love reading your post because it always puts me in a good mood. I woke up SO grumpy this morning and loved to see all of your positivity. The nursery looks adorable! Only 4 more weeks!

    • Awe, I’m so glad I could help get you in a better mood. This pregnancy stuff gets rough towards the end, huh? Just got to keep going and take it one day at a time! It’s so going to be worth it in the end 🙂

  7. I can’t believe you’re getting so close to meeting your little man! you look awesome, and i’m happy you’re happy about the weight gain… i’m in the same boat, waiting to hit the 15# mark, maybe this week 🙂 try to enjoy these last couple weeks mama!

  8. I definitely cried reading your husband’s comment about the baby always loving you more! Precious. I have had the same thought about one day not being the most important person to our child. I never imagined how hard that would be (and we still hopefully have many, many years)!

    Way to stay positive! It’s gotten harder for me to do that the last week, so your post helps! It is sweet how nice people are. We have met more strangers while being pregnant than ever before.

    You look GREAT! I am loving the haircut. The baby looks like it is growing just fine and will be perfectly healthy?

    Has your doctor checked for dilation or anything yet? How did your ultrasound go?

    • Yes, thankfully we have many more years before we need to worry much about our babies getting married! LOL 🙂

      I’m glad my post can help you to stay positive too… these last few week are just rough, and it’s so easy to let the emotions and anxiety take you down. I’m really trying my best, but there are definitely still some bad days.

      I have a doctor’s appointment today and I think she will check for dilation. Yesterday was our ultrasound… baby looks GREAT! Estimated at 5lbs 12 oz., Measuring right at 36 weeks and in the 50th percentile! She said I should expect around a 7 pound baby, so that’s just perfect in my mind. Oh, and he had the cutest chubby little cheeks and was pouting with his lips out – Adorable! My heart just melted 🙂

  9. Almost there, hon! You look (and sound) positively sparkling. Thanks for putting a smile on my face this morning. 😀

  10. Derek pointed out we have that same BABY frame…does yours have the ultrasound pic in it? ALL of our ultrasound photos are sooo bad! Seriously, we’re very disappointed w/ the Tech at our Doc’s office….so our BABY frame is blank just waiting for an actual baby pic! lol

    • Target! And yes, we do have an ultrasound picture in there! We seemed to luck out a little with the ultrasound pictures… but only the 2D images. They tried to get some 3D pictures this last Monday, but Baby Kearney would not stop moving… and he had a foot smashed up against his face! Ha, and I thought I was uncomfortable.

      Getting SO CLOSE to the end now Mindy! How anxious are you to have that baby?!?!

  11. This is like reading poetry. I find myself reading and re-reading the post because it puts a smile on my face every time. Simply lovely!

  12. I’m so behind this week on reading blogs! Here I finally am. Your nursery is looking super cute. I love the key hooks idea.

    I’m glad you are feeling better about weight gain, I know that has been a big area of stress for you. Sounds like things are moving in the right direction:) The only time in life we are happy to gain weight:) lol But seriously, I’m glad you are feeling better about this.

    How neat to feel hiccups. I haven’t felt any yet, but I’m looking forward to it.

    • I can’t remember which week it was when I started feeling hiccups… but it really is pretty awesome! It makes “the bump” so much more human. I mean, what’s more human than getting a case of the hiccups. So cute! Can’t wait until he is here and I get to see those hiccups for real. 🙂

    • I first felt hiccups at 31 weeks. Now she gets them at least once a day! It told me that she was head down since the hiccups were low in my belly 🙂

  13. I nominated you for the Liebster award!! Follow this link to find out more… http://kandpplus3.blogspot.com/2013/07/liebster-award.html

Leave a Reply

