23 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 37 weeks


37

37 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Winter Melon

Gender:  It’s  a Boy!

Food Cravings:  Nowadays, I don’t have cravings… I just have hunger.  I really don’t care what I eat, I just need food (immediately) and it had better be good or I’m going to complain about it.

Food Aversions:  Tomato-based sauce.  It’s the only thing that has caused me to have heartburn.  No more pizza, spaghetti, or salsa!

Movement:  Baby Kearney is definitely starting to run out of extra room, but that hasn’t stopped him from moving.  He’s constantly squirming around in there!  The squirming doesn’t bother me at all… but when he decides to stretch out an arm or a leg – OMG! I’d better be sitting down or at least holding on to something.  That really hurts!

Maternity Clothes:  I have this 1 maternity dress that I wish I could wear every single day.  It’s the only outfit that I still consider comfortable.  Everything else is just too restricting and tight around my giant belly.

Worst Moment of the Week:  What I love about being pregnant: (trying to keep my thoughts positive…)

1.  Nesting, I love nesting.  I could spend all day everyday just prepping things at home to get ready for baby.

2.  Pigging-out.  Mmmm, food!  I enjoy not caring if I’m eating too much… the more I can put down, the better!

3.  Sympathy from my husband.  My back hurts – like, a lot.  He feels bad for me, I can tell.  His concern doesn’t take the pain away, but it does somehow make me feel a little better.

4.  Visible baby kicks.  It’s awesome to feel the baby move, but it’s totally amazing to look down and see the baby kick my belly all around and from one side to the other!

5.  Daydreaming.  It’s so heartwarming to think of all that’s to come; seeing baby’s face for the 1st time, countless baby snuggles, our family meeting baby, dressing baby in all of his adorable outfits, and much much more!

Best Moment of the Week:  We had finished our dinner at a pizza restaurant and I was dragging myself and my belly out of the booth.  While rubbing my full and very pregnant belly, I noticed another couple (maybe in their 60’s) looking my direction.  I smiled their way and then the man says “Whoa! Looks like you had a little too much to eat.”

Ha!  I immediately started laughing.  That was by far the funniest thing I’ve heard from a stranger about my pregnancy!  Justyn was laughing too, so the guy looks at him and says “She should probably go home and do some sit-ups or something.” – Hahaha!  Was this guy for real?  I loved it and now that I think back, I should have bought him a beer or something just to thank him for the laugh!

Looking Forward to:  My last day at work… August 15th!!! (assuming the baby stays put until then)

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  I woke up the other morning and noticed Justyn was on his phone (big surprise), anyways… the first thing he says to me is “My weather app on my phone goes all the way up to August 8th.”  Completely unimpressed and very tiredly I responded “Oh yeah?”  Then Justyn says “Yeah. Do you think the baby will be here by then?”

I didn’t even answer, I simply smiled to myself and recognized just how excited and anxious my husband is for his son to be born.  He is also very hopeful that the baby will decide to come a little early… the anticipation is just about killing him!  At least once a day he tells me that he can’t wait to hold the baby.  He also gives my belly a little rub and says “I love you” to the baby before he leaves for work each morning and then again when he gets home.  It always warms my heart! 🙂

Newest Baby Item(s):  I don’t know how good of an idea this is, but I thought it might be nice to have a little baby corner set up in our living room on the main level of our house since the nursery is upstairs on the 2nd level.  I just keep thinking that I’m going to hate running up and down the stairs everytime I need to change the baby’s diaper.

So, we found this little storage unit with cubbies at Home Depot.

baby cornerFor now, I’ve got it stocked with newborn diapers, wipes, diaper cream, baby powder, and extra pacifiers.  I’m sure once the baby is here I’ll find many other useful things to keep stored here for quick and easy access.

diaper storage

23 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 37 weeks

  1. I admire the fact that you’re staying at work up til such a late date! All the best 🙂

    • Thanks, but honestly… after yesterday and half of a day today at work, I’m thinking I might need to move that date maybe a week earlier. I’m down to the lowest energy level now!

  2. I love the storage unit with little cubbies! I’m thinking of doing one for my living room now too. Awesome idea 🙂

  3. Becky you look good. Only a few more weeks. I wish I could give you a hug….I just love you so very much.

  4. I hear you on the maternity clothes. There are only so many I can “comfortably” wear now and I cannot wait to put non-maternity clothes on! But you look great and you’re so close to meeting the little guy!

    • I’m so tempted to go to Target and buy a 2nd dress (in a different color) of the one that I love so much… it really is the ONLY thing I want to wear!

      But is it really worth $30 for only maybe a few more weeks of pregnancy?!?! I’m leaning towards – yes, it is worth it!

  5. I hear you on the painful movements! My li’l boy had me nearly screaming in pain last night, I think I freaked Derek out. I finally had to bend over w/ my arms on chair & push his body part out of my ribs…it’s the first time it’s ever been that painful & was not fun. I put a little changing area on our dresser in our bedroom so we’ll have a 1st floor option too. My sis had suggested to buy several waterproof pads to keep in pack-n-play & just on hand in general so I plan to use that on the bed when I change him. Not long now!!!

    • You know what, I don’t have any movement near my ribs (maybe because I’m carrying so low?) but, the baby is all over my pelvis, bladder and cervix. That’s where I’m the most uncomfortable! Sometimes I can’t even sit any longer… I just have to get up and walk around to move the baby’s position a little.

  6. How funny about your restaurant story! That kind of thing is cute:) You are looking fantastic as always! I can’t believe your due date is only 3 weeks away!!! How exciting!

  7. FULL TERM! you’re so close, to both meeting your little man AND eating simple starches again!! 🙂 we’re going to do the same thing with a 2nd “baby station” downstairs, he’s going to take over our lives and our house!

    • Ah yes, I can’t wait to indulge in some good ol’ sugar and carbs! Babies really do take over your life and house… but I wouldn’t have it any other way. So exciting 🙂

  8. Yay to Nesting & Pigging out!! Love how excited Justyn is, such a great father already.

    You look so great Becky, that’s one cute bump! Did Bryan share that we booked our tickets? We’ll talk soon!

    • Those Kearney boys… they’re keepers – aren’t they? 🙂

      Justyn did tell me that you guys booked your tickets!!! I can’t wait until the baby is here and you all get to meet him. It will be fun to have you stay with us for a little while too! So much to look forward to.

  9. The baby will be here soon!!! YAY!!!

  10. I am so very much enjoying pigging out! I feel like I say, “It’s okay. I’m pregnant,” at least once a day when eating too much… 🙂

  11. You look so pretty! Makes me excited to get closer and closer to my due date. I love the green/brown look. Is that the nursery or just another baby corner?

Leave a Reply

