10 Comments

Weekend Projects


Justyn and I both finished a couple of little projects over the weekend.  His project might be a little more impressive than mine… but whatever the case, we were able to keep ourselves busy!

Project #1 – Sun Shades for the Back Patio

With football season and the nicer weather that’s just around the corner, we decided it’s time to get our patio in shape to actually be used!  Our backyard faces the southeast, so we get a lot of morning sun shining on the patio and through the windows into our living room.  Besides the heat that comes from the sunshine, we also get terrible glare on our TV screen.  This is no good for football watching!

So, Justyn found a couple of sun shades from Lowe’s.  We (yes, I helped) had to cut them down to size so they would fit the space perfectly.  Once Justyn figured out how to do that, it was all pretty simple to put together!

Here are a few pictures of the installation and finished product:

shade01 shade02 shade03Marley didn’t really know what to think!  I told him he could “limbo”, but I guess it doesn’t go low enough to make that much of a challenge. 🙂

shade04 shade05The finished look from outside.

shade06I love it!  And it’s amazing how much of a difference they make.  I also like that you can still see through them, this way we can keep an eye on Mr. Marley to make sure he’s not up to any mischief!

Project #2 – Labor & Delivery Nurse Gifts

I saw this idea on Pinterest (of course) and decided it was something that I definitely wanted to do.  Whenever I get the opportunity, I love to give out gifts!  And anyone who has ever spent time in the hospital knows how amazing the nurses can be.  Honestly, I have so much appreciation for them mostly because it’s something I don’t think I could ever do.  Taking care of patients day in – day out, the long shifts on their feet, working nights, and I’m sure they get their fair share of difficult people to deal with.  So, I really like this idea to show our appreciation to the nursing staff that will help out when Baby Kearney decides to arrive!

helping our peanut nurse giftsPeanut M&M’s with a note that reads:  “Thanks for helping with our little peanut!”  Such a cute idea from pinterest 🙂

10 comments on “Weekend Projects

  1. I love that idea. Simple, cute and cheap for a nurse gift. I have seen some ideas of entire goodie bags, and Ill be honest it seems like too much and too expensive. This is a great idea 🙂

  2. Nice! Love both ideas! I wish you lived nearer, I’d pay you to put together those little gifts for me..ha! I’m not very crafty, but saw that idea on Pinterest & thought it was perfect. Good luck staying busy the next few weeks. I’m sooo bored. If I didn’t have to pee every 5 minutes when I’m standing up/walking I think I could find something to do, but it’s just a logistical nightmare to be out & about…because if I don’t go to the bathroom right when I need to, then the Braxton Hicks start which make walking all the more difficult. Hope your last few weeks are a bit easier!

    • Thanks, Mindy! I would love to make some crafts for you… it is too bad we don’t live closer.

      I totally know what you’re talking about with the full bladder and braxton hicks, I’ve been struggling with that myself. It sucks going to the bathroom so much, but the braxton hicks start to hurt after a while if I don’t take care of that like I should!

  3. I love the nurse gift idea! That is too cute!

  4. Those shades are SO vital in Arizona. I am SO looking forward to October. Make sure you pick out a semi-warm Halloween costume for the little guy because it always seems to be the night it cools down a lot.

    Love the nurse gifts! I too am putting together a basket of things for the nurses and midwives. I don’t have nearly as many helpers as you may have, so I am doing one basket of treats for all of them. xo

    • A basket of goodies is a great idea… I like that one too! But don’t wait as long as I did to get that together. I really struggled to find the energy to finish that simple little m&m project… my low energy level nowadays is unreal! I never would have guessed it’d be this hard just to make it through the day.

  5. I love the gifts for the nurses! Such a cute idea and really not too hard to do! Now I’m thinking about what I should do for my midwives.

    Your project weekend sounds like it went better than mine. I just wrote a post about my disaster of a night. Ha! I’m very impressed with your sunshades!

Leave a Reply

