7 Comments

Bumpdate ~ 39 weeks


39

39 WEEKS

Baby is the Size of a:  Watermelon

Gender:  It’s  a Boy!

Food Cravings:  Soup, Salad, and Breadsticks from Olive Garden!  And cinnamon rolls… I really can’t wait to eat my 1st cinnamon roll after the baby is born – it’s going to be AMAZING!

Food Aversions:  Eggs.  After one bad morning with a terrible upset stomach, I’ve decided to completely avoid these for the rest of my pregnancy.

Movement:  Lately, the little dude has really chilled out.  I have to pay very close attention to notice him moving now.  I was concerned about it last week and called my doctor.  They had me come in for a non-stress test and the results showed that everything was perfectly fine.  They told me this kind of activity is the baby’s “new normal” and that I shouldn’t expect a lot of movement since he’s growing so much and will keep running out of extra space in there.  

Maternity Clothes:  No more work means I’ll only be wearing gym shorts and tank tops from here on out!  Except for Sunday… I’ll need to put on something a little more special for church. 🙂 

Looking Forward to:  Finally meeting this baby boy and getting to see that cute little face of his!  Ah, I can’t wait!

Best Quote from the Daddy-to-be:  I’ve been hearing a lot of this:  “My back hurts.” – “I wish this drink had alcohol in it.” – “I’m so tired.” –  “What’s for dinner?… that doesn’t sound very good.”

Seems someone is having an awful lot of sympathy pains!  But I still love him, he’s such a wonderful husband and a very caring daddy-to-be.  We’re both just so ready for this pregnancy to be over and to start our new role as parents!

Training the Dog:  We met with a trainer last week to schedule a “dog-sitter” for when we need to go to the hospital.  We also talked about some training techniques and tricks to get the dog ready for baby.

Here are the suggestions:

1.  Get a toy baby-doll.

2.  Use baby products (lotion, powder, etc.) on the doll and wrap the baby in a blanket.

3.  Carry the doll around like it’s the real baby.

4.  Have the dog sit, then allow the dog to smell only the baby’s feet or bottom.

So, we did all of this… but Marley didn’t seem to notice that anything was different.  Honestly, he really couldn’t care less!  So Justyn came up with a great idea to use this app on his phone that plays the noises of a baby crying.  Marley’s reaction was amazing!  He immediately perked up his ears and cocked his head to the side.  You could tell the dog was very unsure of what was going on, but he was following Justyn’s cues perfectly.  Marley was curious but cautious and listened to every command we gave him.

We seriously spent hours with this baby-doll and the baby crying app.  Justyn would hold the doll for a while, then I would hold the doll.  Always letting Marley smell the baby’s bottom.  We put the baby in the swing and walked away to see how Marley would react.  Still being very curious but cautious, the dog only wanted to approach the baby if we were there with him.  Very good!

I still can’t believe how well this doll-with-the-phone trick worked!  Here are a couple of pictures from when we put the baby in the pack-n-play:

babytraining1Such a good dog.  He got just close enough to see over the top and sniff.

babytraining2With Marley’s high energy, we’ve been a little nervous about bringing the baby home.  But seeing how gentle he was around the doll, I now have higher hopes that the dog will understand how he needs to act when it’s most important.

7 comments on “Bumpdate ~ 39 weeks

  1. Great tips for getting the dog ready for the new arrival – I should try it on our dog too. I’ve played her sounds of the baby crying on Youtube before, and she gets all curious… All the best – you’ll get to meet your baby really soon!

  2. I am now craving salad and bread sticks from Olive Garden! You think they’re open for breakfast? 🙂

    I was so hoping I would get on WordPress and see that you had your sweet baby this week. I’m getting so excited for you!

    Eggs have been killing me lately, too! I made a breakfast casserole the other day and can’t even enjoy it. The first piece about killed me. I decided to stick with cereal…

    I would designate someone to bring you the biggest cinnamon roll possible to the hospital!

    • Now that I think about it… I wonder what time Olive Garden does open??? I’m thinking I could eat lunch pretty early today 🙂

      I keep hoping to see that you had your baby too! Haha… it’s so fun seeing everyone posting pictures of their newborns. It makes me so happy, I just love it!

  3. Oh honey any day. How exciting. The family of two will become three. You look great. If you get a big burst of energy that usually means baby very soon. We can’t wait for your special day

  4. So cute! I can’t believe you are just a week away from little man’s due date! We were up in Phoenix yesterday and I thought of you. I am so anxious to see pictures!!!

  5. Yay for being done with work! I bet you are super happy to be DONE! Enjoy these last few days of relaxing as much as possible since your little guy will be here any day. I can’t wait to see and hear of his arrival.

    Think of all the wonderful foods you can eat as soon as he is born! Goodbye GD and hello deliciousness! You are going to be so happy for many reasons (and of course having a baby in your arms will be great too, lol).

    We tried the crying baby out the other day on the dog. It actually bothered Eric way more than it did the dog! haha! I love how in depth you went with the prep for the dog. I might have to try some of those things once my due date gets closer.

    GOOD LUCK!! Hope to hear some exciting news soon:)

Leave a Reply

