16 Comments

Life with a Newborn


1231342_684022978291987_962477568_n (1)

The Good:

When we wake up in the mornings, we cuddle.  Sometimes Coyer lies next to me in bed, and sometimes he lies tummy-down right on my chest.

I receive the most wonderful comments from strangers when we go out to run errands.  I’ll never get tired of hearing people say “awe…” when they sneak a peak at my sweet baby!

During awake time, I love singing to Coyer.  I try to mix it up with my song selections, but mostly stick to “You are my Sunshine” and “Rise and Shine”.

The Bad:

Never-ending laundry.  Both Coyer and I go through about 3 outfits each day!  The pee, poo and spit-up can really surprise you sometimes… and this usually happens at the most inopportune times.  🙂

Very, very little time for myself.  I feel great if I can just find 15 minutes to shower during the day!  Feeding myself is almost always trumped by the baby’s needs.  I’m learning to eat whenever he is sleeping, whether I’m hungry or not, because I never know when my next chance will be to get some real food in my belly.

The Beautiful:

We have been blessed with the most amazing neighbors who organized evening meals to be delivered to our house during the first few weeks after Coyer was born.  Since we are still new to Arizona and don’t know too many people here, our neighbors asked their own friends to cook and deliver meals to us!  It honestly brought tears to our eyes the first few times we received such wonderful home-cooked meals from complete strangers.  We couldn’t thank these people enough for their kindness.  The only thing we can do is make a promise to ourselves to pass it on!  Justyn and I will be looking forward to future opportunities when we can do the same for others.

The Ugly:

There’s no avoiding the sleep-deprivation that accompanies new parents!  Yes, it’s easy to catch a nap while the baby sleeps during the day… but never getting more than 3, maybe 4 hours of sleep at one time will definitely catch up to you before long.  Then, because you’re tired all of the time, you become very grumpy and easily irritable!  It’s actually very scary how easily my husband and I have found ourselves fighting over the smallest of things.  We are learning that we are both in this together!  We are both sleep deprived, working hard, trying our best and struggling to keep up with the day-to-day activities.  Understanding and patience with eachother are the two things that we need the most to keep our relationship strong.

The Love:

The amount of love floating around our house is unreal!  Sometimes, we get so overwhelmed by how much love there is that we actually cry a little…  happy tears, of course!

Having a baby changes everything for the better!  Priorities become more about family, time becomes more precious, and life becomes more of a purpose.

I love my baby.  My husband loves his baby.  I love my husband and he loves me too!  It’s so true… all you really need is LOVE!

LOVE

16 comments on “Life with a Newborn

  1. So sweet! and he is just beautiful!

  2. Aww this made me choke up, of course. I live reading your updates! And that is truly amazing about your neighbors and their thoughtfulness!

  3. Wow, the kindness of your neighbors is exemplary.

    The first 6 weeks in a baby’s life is the worst stage. But things do get better with time. It won’t be long till your little one will start entertaining you with his funny antics.

  4. Oh honey this is so short lived until the next one. Kristi and Dean did where Kristi went to bed after the 9-10 feeding and Dean stayed up. And did the next three hour feeding and the. He went to bed and the. Kristi got up for the next one but at least she had 5-6 hours of sleep. You are doing great. Enjoy because they grow up so fast. Sending love and hugs to you all. Just our Aunt Marla.

  5. Oh yes, the spit up and outfit changes. It’s so funny (but not really) how fast it happens. I’ll change Charlotte and immediately she’ll spit up on the new outfit without even a hint that she’s going to do it! Hopefully you’re starting to get into a rhythm with the sleep. It is really hard, but we’re just starting to get into one and I think your body will adjust soon enough. Remember, everything has a start and end 🙂

    It sounds like you guys are doing awesome and while stressful at times, you’ll only look back at the good times and all the fun memories you’re making!

  6. The love makes the lack of sleep totally worth it! And it will get better 🙂 I’m happy to hear you guys are adjusting well, he is so adorable!

  7. Amen!

    I agree with all of this. It’s amazing how much love there is even when it’s hard!

  8. I’ve enjoyed reading your updates, just rarely have time to comment from my PC (too cumbersome on my phone). I can so relate to everything you said…I was so happy to get a shower today just so I could stop smelling the dried breastmilk Harper spewed all over me. I’m so jealous that Coyer sleeps during the day! Harper is SUCH an alert baby & I never know if he’s going to catnap or take a REAL nap…I normally guess wrong and am up in 10 minutes again or taking a shower/eating while he’s having a good long snooze. Derek & I were shocked at the amount of laundry too…I find it frustrating though because I never have a “full” load – their clothes/linens are sooo tiny. I know you said other things I can relate to & I wanted to comment, but I’ve already forgotten them….Do you have mommy brain too? We keep asking each other what day it is – today I spent 30 minutes looking for a swaddel blanket I’d just had in my hand…Derek found it in the carseat, even though we hadn’t gone out all day! I’m just so thankful Derek works from home, it’s really been a godsend to just get some help here & there. Keep enjoying your li’l one & I’ll do the same….I nearly cry everytime I think of how fleeting this moments are…they just grow up too fast!

    • Thanks for the comment, Mindy. I’m the same way… it’s hard to find the time to comment on things! I’ll start to comment and half way through Coyer will start fussing (like right now – lol) and I’ll forget what I was trying to write. Life with a newborn… it’s crazy, but I love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

