8 Comments

Life Lately…


Wow, it’s been quite a while since I posted last!  What can I say… I’ve got a newborn to take care of now, so priorities have most definitely changed.

Here’s what we’ve been up to lately:

– Lots and Lots of Visitorsfamilyvisits Coyer has met a lot of family already – his Grammy & Papa (Kearney), Grandpa Joe, Aunt Carrie & Uncle Bryan, and Grandma & Grandpa Schulte!  Each visit has been special and we’ve really enjoyed spending so much quality time with everyone.  We’re so blessed to have such a loving family 🙂

– I have Instagram now!

instapics

My new favorite thing to do!  I’m loving instagram and I’m already a little obsessed with posting cute pictures of my studly little man.

– Chef Becky is Back…

I finally feel like cooking again!  It’s been such a great way for me to unwind at the end of the day.  Justyn comes home from work, takes on baby duty, and I pour a glass of wine (just 1 since I’m breastfeeding) to enjoy while I make dinner.

quesadillas

Here’s the recipe for these Chicken, Spinach & Cannellini Bean Quesadillas that I found on pinterest.

– Our Boy is Growing Fast

Coyer has grown out of his newborn clothes already and we’ve been wearing size 3 mo. for about 2 weeks now!  The 3 month clothes are still a little big, but I feel terrible trying to squeeze his chubby little body into his newborn outfits.

201

I packed up all of these outfits that are too small now… all the while thinking they’ll be used for the next one.  But then, I realized there might not be a next BOY!  How sad. 😦  Some of those clothes weren’t even worn once.

– Yay!  Fall TV has returned.

There are so many fun shows to watch during the Fall.  Many of my favorite have returned, like Homeland on ShowTime, Modern Family, and Parenthood.

Parenthood-kids-

I also started watching two new tv shows.  I just set the dvr to record Hostages and The Blacklist on Monday nights, then I catch up with my recordings while Coyer is nursing.

By the way… The Blacklist, with James Spader, is AWESOME!  I love it already.

NBCs-The-Blacklist

– The Baby Blues

I’m not gonna lie… this new mom stuff is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever done!  Most days are pretty wonderful, just happy as can be and loving on my baby boy.  But, there are some days that I just have to stop what I’m doing and cry for a while.

I’m tired.  The house is a mess.  I can’t remember the last time I showered.  I’ve only had a peanutbutter sandwich for lunch every day this week.  Nothing in my closet fits.

Worst of all, I constantly ask myself if I’m doing this mom thing right… should he be sleeping so much?  should I be holding him more?  is he hungry or just tired?  does he need more stimulation?  and what’s with all this spit-up?

200

This picture says it all!

I’m trying to fold laundry while playing with Coyer.  There’s a dirty diaper on the floor.  I’ve got the bible on the coffee table for easy reference (What to Expect the First Year).  Oh, and I got out the finger nail polish and remover thinking I could maybe paint my toes… yeah right, no way that’s ever gonna happen!

As hard as this all is, I still wouldn’t trade it for anything else.  I love spending so much time with my sweet baby!  I know it will get easier and I’ll eventually fall into a “new normal”.

025

Come on, seriously… how could you not love every minute you spend with this cutie pie?  Oh, I still just melt whenever I look at him.

Just a little baby blues.  Nothing that unusual, I hear it’s pretty common to have these feelings (right?)

– Looking Forward

I’m taking a few hours this Saturday to treat myself to a mani/pedi and maybe, just maybe a trip to Target!  I know, I’m living life on the edge these days. 🙂  But really, I’m so looking forward to handing the baby off to my husband for a while!  I haven’t spent more than 30 minutes away from Coyer since he was born.  Momma needs a break!

Also, I cannot wait for my bestie, Jessica, to visit at the end of this month.  Remember, her little Lucy was born just 1 month before Coyer.  We are going to have so much fun together with our babies!!!

1370335_924681065339_1417683856_n

Jessica and Lucy.  Aren’t they both just so beautiful! 🙂

8 comments on “Life Lately…

  1. Looks like everything is going well and normally 🙂 coyer is so handsome!

  2. What a handsome little guy! And I love all the pictures you post on instagram. Keep them coming!

    Being a mom is definitely hard and overwhelming at times. I remember wondering what people with newborns did all day… now I know. Every time I think I have something figured out, it changes. 🙂

  3. I can’t believe how fast he is growing, that’s amazing! A little pp depression is totally normal mama, it’s a big life adjustment! But Coyer is clearly a healthy happy baby so take heart because you’re clearly doing a great job! 🙂

  4. SO NORMAL to feel that way. EVERY SECOND OF EVERYDAY IS NOW CHANGED. It is still hard some days….My house is never clean anymore and I am SUCH a clean freak. I smell like breast milk all the time and my family is lucky if we have milk or bread. Lots of love to you. You are doing a fabulous job!

  5. What Carin said! I totally feel you on the “baby blues”/questioning yourself all the time now. I worry that I want my girls to sleep more than they should during the day, that I’m being selfish by wanting them to nap so I can do laundry and make dinner for Chris for when he stops home. I worry that I should be holding them more, but then I rationalize it because I hold them for 20-30 minutes at a time 6-8 times a day to nurse them. I worry I’m not doing a good job of playing with them, doing tummy time, etc. *sigh* It’s tough. And we, as moms, are extraordinarily hard on ourselves, aren’t we? We mamas just gotta stick together and build each other up. 🙂 Rock on, lady. You are awesome, and so is that smashing baby boy of yours.

  6. Aww – I feel so normal now Becky! Thank you for your post! I’m sorry to hear about your baby blues — it’s completely normal. I haven’t had it, but my sister had it with her second….so there’s hope, maybe you won’t have it with the next! Good for you for treating yourself to a mani/pedi. We’re lucky to have family nearby so we’ve gotten out together as a couple on our own once for dinner & will again in a couple weeks. My problem is I can’t bring myself to be away from Harper. I’ve run errands (grocery store, walgreens) for a few minutes on my own…Derek wanted to take him to a friend’s to watch football, but he was going to be gone for 4 hours so I just went with them! Ridiculous right?! I have to stop breastfeeding soon due to my migraines (can’t take the drugs while bf) so I have been trying to savor each & every nursing opportunity.

    When I saw your nail polish out I got so jealous & thought – how does she have the time?! Your comment on that made me laugh – wishful thinking never hurt anyone! haha

    Take care, I hear it gets easier…..one day! 😉

  7. You sound like you’re doing a GREAT job!! Being a mom is so hard…way harder than I ever imagined. I’m lucky if I get dressed for the day, which is hard since nothing fits anymore 😉 I keep hearing it gets easier-hang in there! Your little boy I looks so cute and happy!!

Leave a Reply

