2 Comments

How do you define “Busy”?


1busy

 adjective \ˈbi-zē\

: actively doing something

: full of activity or work

www.merriam-webster.com

We’re all busy, right?

1.  The college student who’s juggling a 16 hour semester, 2 jobs, and a crazy social life.

2.  The 20- and 30-somethings out there, building their careers and working an insane amount of hours just to prove their worth.

3.  The couple who just got engaged and now have a to-d0 list that’s half a mile long and two different families to keep happy as they become one.

4.  The new parents who have their hands full with diapers, feedings, crying, naps, and playing with baby.

5.  The family with three kids, always on the go.  Soccer tonight, dance tomorrow, a meeting with the school’s principle, the youngest has an appointment with the dentist, the middle child is having a friend over for dinner, and the oldest needs a talk with mom & dad about the issues happening at school.

6.  The grandparents who are still working full-time jobs and keeping up with the house repairs, but never miss one of the kid’s birthdays, school programs, basketball games, or their first communion at church.

I could go on, but I’m sure you get my point.  We all live very busy lives!

So, answer this question:  Who is the busiest?

(a)  The family with 3 kids

(b)  The college student

(c)  The grandparents

(d)  The engaged couple

Did you guess (a), or maybe even (d)?  Well, in my opinion, I’d say this is a trick question.  How can you really measure one’s level of being “busy”?  I’m sure if you took someone from each of the 6 lifestyles that I listed above, they would easily be able to argue that they are indeed busier than the next.  To be honest, I think (being new parents ourselves) that we are the busiest of them all.  But, I know that’s wrong and it’s really not fair to others for me to think that way either.

The other day, I heard myself say:  “I don’t have time for a phone call.”

Now that’s a pretty strong statement.  To someone else’s ears, I’m actually saying:  “I’m too busy with my life to talk to you about yours” (ouch).

Sure, most days I’m so busy making sure the baby has what he needs that my butt only finds the couch when it’s time for nursing.  And during those quick 20 minutes of nursing, I’m buried into my phone – responding to texts, checking email, facebook, instagram, etc.

I’m always busy, always going, always doing something!  That’s really nothing new… story of my life, really.  The things occupying my time have changed, but not the amount of free time.

So, what am I trying to say here?  Well, I don’t really know.

But, do you want to know what I’ve recently realized?  It’s that I can, and I should make time for a phone call.

No matter how crazy I feel like my life is, I really just need to take 5 or 10 minutes a day – yes, each and every day – to call someone I love.  A friend, a brother, a parent, even my in-laws!  I miss these people so much every single day.  But how would they know how I feel if I can’t ever find the time to pick up the phone and dial their number?

I consider myself blessed to have such wonderful people in my life.  I really don’t want to take my friendships and family relationships for granted.

So, the New Year is upon us and it’s time for making resolutions.  And I can’t think of a better resolution for myself than a promise to make more time for phone calls!

I’m very excited about this resolution and I’m hopeful that it will help to build some stronger relationships in my life!

Happy New Year to Everyone!  I hope 2014 will be a wonderful year for us all.  Cheers! 🙂

untitled

hdwallpapersinn.com

**One last side note, just something to consider:  If you haven’t heard from a loved one in a while (they don’t return calls, emails, or even texts) it probably doesn’t mean that they are mad at you.  Maybe they are just struggling to make time for a phone call, just like me.  As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, we’re all very busy people.  Just think of how great things might be if we could be more understanding of this and spend less time finding faults in our friend/family’s behaviors.  Spread the love people!  Don’t hate.**

2 comments on “How do you define “Busy”?

  1. Good post! I need to do this more! I stay connected through social media but I need to remember to reach out to the people I’m close to and let them hear my voice.

  2. I personally hate talking on the phone usually…the only people I talk to are my Mom/Dad & Paula. However, my sister & my BF both use an app called Voxer. It’s free & it’s basically like a walkie talkie…it’s annoying that you have to hold the button to talk, but it allows you to essentially leave a message with your friend & they can listen to it & respond whenever they have free time…similiar to a text message, just with your voice! Anyway, it’s really helped me stay in touch with some of those that I love but whom I can just never find the time to talk to or our schedules don’t match up! Happy New Year! Mindy

Leave a Reply

